Michael Dapaah, actor, comedian, rapper and one of the most prominent and influential digital talents in British pop culture will host the TV Festival’s New Voice Awards on Tuesday, 26th February.


Michael Dapaah

Dapaah is best known for his SWIL (Somewhere in London) web series and his viral hit ‘Man’s Not Hot’ which he performs as SWIL character Big Shaq, Dapaah’s web show amassed over 1 million views in its first series and is currently in production for a second series.

Held at Rich Mix in East London, The New Voice Awards are the TV Festival’s recognition of undiscovered creatives and the companies who do the most to support them.

“Michael Daapah is no stranger to awards – receiving a nomination for ‘Hero of The Year’ at the NME Awards in 2018 and was winner of both the GUBA’s ‘Rising Star Award’ and GRM Daily Rated Awards ‘Personality of the Year’. To be able to welcome someone of Michael’s calibre and talent, someone who is so inspiring, is incredibly important to the Festival and to our nominees.”

Lisa Campbell, Festival Director

Supporting new talent is at the very heart of the TV Festival’s strategy and The New Voice Awards echo the mission of the Festival’s two talent schemes, Ones to Watch and The Network, which aim to make the industry more accessible to a broader range of individuals and to provide a prestigious platform for rising stars.

This is the second year the awards (known as The Debbies in its inaugural year) have been held and include recognition for Best Debut Writer and Director, Best Broadcaster, Best Company and Best Agency for New Talent.

“This evening represents everything the TV Festival is about – a celebration of the most inspiring and creative people. It’s an incredible industry to work in and to be able to help give rising talent some recognition and help them on their path to continued success is what we all work so hard to do.”

Campbell Glennie, Director of Education and Talent Development

All ticket holders for the awards will also be able to attend a special new writer’s panel. The panellists will include screenwriters Daniel Lawrence Taylor (Timewasters), Sophie Petzal (Blood) and Shivani Thussu (winner of the 2018 All3Media New Script Award).

New Voice Awards Panelists: read more